Morrison's Pensions


Pension Application for Jacob Akley or Ackley

S.45182.  Second NY Regiment, New York Line.
            I, Jacob Akly of the town of Ovid in the county of Seneca do declare & say that I served as a private soldier in the war of the revolution for & during the term of five years & ten months ending June 9th 1783, that on first entering the said service I enlisted at Fort Montgomery in the State of New York in the month of August 1777 and served in Capt. John Johnson’s company in Col. Lewis Dubois Regiment in the New York Line, until the year 1780 when the regiments were consolidated and from that time until I was discharged belonged to the second Regiment of the New York Line—and that I was discharged at Snake Hill in the state of New York on or about the ninth of June 1783.  And I do further declare & say that I am the same Jacob Akly named in the discharge herewith annexed and that by reason of my reduced circumstances in life I am in need of assistance from my country for support.  (Signed with his mark)  Jacob Akley

State of New York
Seneca County SS. 
            I, John Sayre one of the Judges of the Court of Common Pleas of said County do certify that on the 15th day of April 1818 the above named Jacob Akley personally appeared before me and did make & subscribed the above declaration under oath.  John Sayre.

Northern District of New York
County of Seneca SS.
            On this seventh day of October, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and twenty, personally appeared in open court, (bring a court of Common Pleas, holden in and for the county of Seneca, in the district aforesaid, and a Court of Record, proceeding according to the court of common law, with a jurisdiction unlimited in point of amount, keeping a record of its proceedings and having a common seal,) Jacob Akley aged fifty six years a resident in said district, in the town of Ovid in the county aforesaid, who being first duly sworn according to law, doth on his oath declare that he served in the Revolutionary War, as follows: in order to obtain the provisions of the Act of Congress of 18 March 1818 & the first May 1820. That he enlisted for the term of during the Revolutionary War in the month of August 1777 in Fort Montgomery in the State of New York in the company commanded by John Johnson in the Regiment commanded by Colonel Lewis Dubois in the Line of the State of New York in the New York Continental Establishment that he continued to serve in said Corps until the end of the war when he was discharged at Snake Hill in the State of New York in April 1782.  That he was in the engagement at Fort Montgomery in the Engagement at New town under Gen. Sullivan with the Indians at the Capture of Lord Cornwallis.  That has received a pension certificate & that the date of his original declaration is 15th April 1818 his certificate is dated 15 May 1818 and numbered 569.
            And I do solemnly swear that I was a resident citizen of the United States, on the eighteenth day of March, one thousand  eight hundred and eighteen and that I have not, since that time, by gift, sale or in any manner whatever, disposed of my property, or any part thereof, with intent thereby so to diminish it as to bring myself within the provisions of an act of Congress, entitled “An act to provide for certain persons engaged in the land and naval service of the United States in the Revolutionary War”, passed on the eighteenth day of March, one thousand eight hundred and eighteen, and that I have not, nor has any person in trust for me, any property, or securities, contracts, or debts, due to me; nor have I any income, other than what is contained in the schedule hereto annexed and by me subscribed.

Schedule
            That my age is 56 years.  My wife is aged 52 years.  Her health is very feeble & has been so for several years on account of a droposical complaint.  She is able to labor but very little—I have three children in my family—the oldest is a girl aged 15 years, another girl aged 11 years—and a boy aged 8 years.  I have no real estate whatever.  My occupation is that of farming.  My health is poor—Able to labor about one half the amount of a well man.  I have rheumatic affliction.
            I have one hog worth $2.00
            I have one axe, 1 hoe, 1 sickle, 1 scythe worth 4.37
            One Iron wedge, 1 crosscut saw worth 8.50
            One [adg?] 5 chairs, 1 table, 1 stand worth 5.00
            1 fine shovel, 2 pails, 1 dish kettle worth 3.25
            5 forks & 2 knives, 6 spoons 1 set of tea cups worth 2.00
            1 tea pot, 1 tea kettle—1 pot worth 2.68
            12 plates, 6 basins, 3 bowls worth 2.50
            1 pepper box, 1 looking glass worth 0.56
            1 smoothing [?] worth .50
            1 bake kettle & one [trammel?] 4.00
            (Signed with his mark)  Jacob Ackley
            Sworn to & declared in open court 7th Oct. 1820, J. H. Halsey Clk.

Return to opening page of Morrison's Pensions

Copyright 1998, -- 2008. James F. Morrison and Berry Enterprises. All rights reserved. All items on the site are copyrighted. While we welcome you to use the information provided on this web site by copying it, or downloading it; this information is copyrighted and not to be reproduced for distribution, sale, or profit.